top of page
Search

Say Cheese!

If you would be a type of cheese, what kind of cheese would you be? Weird question, right?





I figured my daughter would most defo be a little baby bell. Not very outspoken yet, light in flavour, small and likes to hang around with onekind (comes in a package). ;)

Me, I guess, I would be Ricotta - fits with everything, a fluffy, nice little blend of everything (the good & the bad), sweet and very pale in colour ;).

My partner, he would for sure be the king of cheeses - a blue Stilton. Only liked by a selected number of human beings, impeccable in flavour, a little crumbly but soft on the inside. However, with a beautiful interior, streaked like marble and stout and bold in flavor. :) So cheesy!!!





Really, Cheese has not always been one my favourite topics. In fact, as a child, my worst nightmare was having to work in cheese shop (Cremerie). My brother even once tried to smear cottage cheese on my feet and I screamed from disgust. Still traumatised from that event.

I disliked the taste, flavour and most of all I hated the smell of cheese. Still gives me the chills.

Nowadays, I have adapted to a 2:1 ratio. I like some cheeses molten and a selected number (Mozarella, Parmigiano Reggiano, slowly adapting to like Manchego) but I still hate the smell. 2:1 ratio you see. :)


And then I came across Halloumi. What a wonderful invention. salty, pungeunt, not melting and so diverse.


I just need to share the recipe with you as all it's flavours make up a well-rounded dish.

At the one hand you got the grilled smokey Halloumi topped with honey & thyme, the sweetness of the cherry tomatoes along with the spiciness of the chilly, the crunchiness of the salad and the nuts alongside the buttery Avocado. Warm, cold


Match made in heaven! Even if you can't really cook. This recipe is foolproof. Add your own little twist and play with the recipe.


Remember, I only eat animal protein once a week (may it be fish, dairy or meat).




Here it comes, my super duper Halo Haloumi recipe:



🥗🥗🥗This vibrant & hearty salad is perfect for sunny September days ahead. 🥗🥗🥗Served with warm tomato and chilli dressing, it is packed with loads of flavour, too. 🍅Serves 4 🥗🥗🥗🥗

Cooking time: 25 minutes


Ingredients:


For the lentils:

🍅 small can of green lentils

🍅1 shallot, chopped

🍅Sprig of thyme and parsley, chopped

🍅Good glug of olive oil


For the salad:

🍅250g halloumi, sliced

🍅Organic bee honey

🍅 sprig of Thyme

🍅200 g spinach (add watercress if you have)

🍅A handful of roasted pistachios

🍅1 avocado, sliced


For the tomato and chilli dressing:

🍅3 tbsp olive oil

🍅40g sundried tomatoes, chopped

🍅1 tbsp lemon juice

🍅½ red chilli, deseeded and finely chopped

🍅200g cherry tomatoes, halved

🍅handful fresh basil, finely chopped



Method: Pour some olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat and sauté shallots around 2 minutes. Add lentils, parsley, thyme, salt and pepper and spread on the bottom of your serving dish.


Meanwhile, add all the dressing ingredients apart from the cherry tomatoes and basil to a pan and place on a medium heat. Cook for 1 min, stirring, then add the cherry tomatoes. Allow to soften in the dressing for 2-3 mins, then remove from the heat and stir through the basil.

Heat a large griddle pan over a high heat. Drizzle the halloumi slices with olive oil and add to the pan in a single layer. Cook for 2 mins each side or until golden and charred. Drizzle with a bit of honey and add thyme.

Toss together the spinach salad and avocado and put them in serving dish. Top with the halloumi and the pistachios. Pour over the warm tomato and chilli dressing and serve.#lunch#koken#gezond#vegetarisch#glutenvrij#lowcarb#keto#suikervrij#foodie#voedingscoach#lunchke#recepten

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page